General Information

1. Visa Information and Immigration Procedures

All travellers are required to go through immigration clearance upon arrival into Singapore.

The granting of visit passes to visitors is determined by the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers at the point of entry. Visitors must satisfy the following basic entry requirements before they can be considered for entry into Singapore:

The period of stay granted is shown on the visit pass endorsement given on the visitor’s passport. Visitors are advised to check their passports for the arrival endorsement and take note of the number of days stay given before leaving the checkpoint.

Countries Requiring Visa

Foreigners holding travel documents issued by the following countries will require either a Business visa (for business visit) or Social Visit visa (for social visitors) to enter Singapore:

Assessment Level I Countries 

•People’s Republic of China
•Holders of Hong Kong Document of Identity
•Holders of Macao Special Administrative Region (MSAR) Travel Permit
*Commonwealth of Independent States

Assessment Level II Countries  

•Saudi Arabia
•Holders of Palestinian Authority Passport, Temporary Passport issued by the United Arab Emirates and Refugee Travel Document issued by Middle-East countries. 

For more information on visiting Singapore, please refer to the Travellers’ Info Guide.


2. Singapore Changi Airport

Singapore Changi Airport (IATA: SINICAO: WSSS), Changi International Airport, or simply Changi Airport, is the main airport in Singapore. A major aviation hub in Southeast Asia, it is about 17.2 kilometres (10.7 mi) north-east from the commercial centre in Changi, on a 13 square kilometres (5.0 sq mi) site. Singapore Changi Airport is easily accessible with many modes of transportation available to and from the Airport. For drivers, car parks are available at every Terminal of the airport as well.

Please see To and From Airport for more information for transport on to and from Changi Airport.


3. Singapore’s Mass Rapid Transit Network

SMRT operates three main rail lines, the North South Line which runs from Marina Bay Station to Jurong East Station via Woodlands Station, and the East West Line which runs from Pasir Ris Station to Joo Koon Station, and the Circle Line, which runs from Dhoby Ghaut Station to Marymount Station.
If you wish to connect to the North East Line, simply change trains at Dhoby Ghaut Station, Outram Park Station or Serangoon Station. For commuters headed to the Singapore Expo Centre or travellers bound for Singapore Changi Airport, hop on board the Singapore Changi Airport Express which calls at Tanah Merah Station. 

Connecting town and heartlands
Bukit Panjang Light Rapid Transit (BPLRT) is the first Light Rapid Transit (LRT) system to be built in Singapore. The fully automated BPLRT system which covers 7.8km of elevated guideways is a modern and convenient feeder service. 
All 14 stations on the BPLRT line are conveniently located within 400m of most apartment blocks in Bukit Panjang and Choa Chu Kang estates. Covered linkways protect you from the elements whilst access to amenities and other modes of transportation such as the MRT and bus provide the convenience and connectivity you are looking for. 

Please see the SMRT Trains Website for more information on travelling on MRT in Singapore.

Comments are closed.